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An injury prevention coalition

Bicycle Helmet Law for North Carolina

On July 5, 2001, North Carolina became a safer place to ride bicycles. Governor Michael Easley signed
the "Child Bicycle Safety Act" into law. This law requires every person under 16 years old to wear an
approved bicycle helmet when operating a bicycle on any public road, public bicycle path, or other pub-
lic right-of-way. In addition this law specifies that all child passengers falling at or below 40 pounds/40
inches, must be carried in a separate restraining seat. Any parent or legal guardian who knowingly al-
lows a child to ride without a helmet or to ride as a passenger not secured in a restraining seat (when
applicable), will be in violation of the law. Violation of the law carries a $10 civil fine. The fine may be
waived upon the receipt of satisfactory proof of purchase of helmet or restraining seat. This law became
effective October 1, 2001.

The purpose of this law is to reduce the number of head-related injuries and deaths from bicycle
crashes. Studies show that helmets prevent 60 percent of head injury deaths and reduce the overall
risk of head injuries by 85 percent.

GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2001

SESSION LAW 2001-268 HOUSE BILL 63
AN ACT TO REQUIRE THE USE OF CERTAIN SAFETY EQUIPMENT BY CHILDREN WHILE
THEY ARE BICYCLE OPERATORS OR PASSENGERS

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

SECTION 1. Chapter 20 of the General Statutes is amended by adding a new Part 10B to Article 3
to read:

10B. Child Bicycle Safety Act.

20-171.6. Short title.

This Article shall be known and may be cited as the 'Child Bicycle Safety Act'.

20-171.7. Legislative findings and purpose.

(a) — The General Assembly finds and declares that:

(1) — Disability and death of children resulting from injuries sustained in bicycling acci-
dents are a serious threat to the public health, welfare, and safety of the people of this
State, and the prevention of that disability and death is a goal of all North Carolinians.

(2) — Head injuries are the leading cause of disability and death from bicycling acci-
dents.

(3) — The risk of head injury from bicycling accidents is significantly reduced for bicy-
clists who wear proper protective bicycle helmets; yet helmets are worn by fewer than



five percent (5%) of child bicyclists nationwide.

(4) — The risk of head injury or of any other injury to a small child who is a passenger
on a bicycle operated by another person would be significantly reduced if any child pas-
senger sat in a separate restraining seat.

(b) — The purpose of this Article is to reduce the incidence of disability and death resulting
from injuries incurred in bicycling accidents by requiring that while riding on a bicycle on the
public roads, public bicycle paths, and other public rights-of-way of this State, all bicycle opera-
tors and passengers under the age of 16 years wear approved protective bicycle helmets; that
all bicycle passengers who weigh less than 40 pounds or are less than 40 inches in height be
seated in separate restraining seats; and that no person who is unable to maintain an erect,
seated position shall be a passenger in a bicycle restraining seat, and all other bicycle passen-
gers shall be seated on saddle seats.

20-171.8. Definitions.

As used in this Article, the following terms have the following meanings:

(1) — 'Bicycle' means a human-powered vehicle with two wheels in tandem designed to
transport, by the action of pedaling, one or more persons seated on one or more saddle
seats on its frame. This term also includes a human-powered vehicle, designed to
transport by the action of pedaling which has more than two wheels where the vehicle
is used on a public roadway, public bicycle path, or other public right-of-way, but does
not include a tricycle.

(2) — 'Operator' means a person who travels on a bicycle seated on a saddle seat from
which that person is intended to and can pedal the bicycle.

(3) — 'Other public right-of-way' means any right- of-way other than a public roadway or
public bicycle path that is under the jurisdiction and control of this State or a local politi-
cal subdivision of the State and is designed for use and used by vehicular and/or pe-
destrian traffic.

(4 — 'Passenger' means a person who travels on a bicycle in any manner except as an
operator.

(5) — 'Protective bicycle helmet' means a piece of headgear that meets or exceeds the
impact standards for protective bicycle helmets set by the American National Standards
Institute (ANSI) or the Snell Memorial Foundation.

(6) — 'Public bicycle path' means a right-of-way under the jurisdiction and control of this
State or a local political subdivision of the State for use primarily by bicycles and pedes-
trians.

(7) — 'Public roadway' means a right-of-way under the jurisdiction and control of this
State or a local political subdivision of the State for use primarily by motor vehicles.

(8) — 'Restraining seat' means a seat separate from the saddle seat of the operator of
the bicycle that is fastened securely to the frame of the bicycle and is adequately
equipped to restrain the passenger in such seat and protect such passenger from the
moving parts of the bicycle.

(9) — 'Tricycle' means a three-wheeled, human- powered vehicle designed for use as a
toy by a single child under the age of six years, the seat of which is no more than two
feet from ground level.



20-171.9. Requirements for helmet and restraining seat use.

With regard to any bicycle used on a public roadway, public bicycle path, or other public right-
of-way:

(a) — It shall be unlawful for any parent or legal guardian of a person below the age of 16 to
knowingly permit that person to operate or be a passenger on a bicycle unless at all times
when the person is so engaged he or she wears a protective bicycle helmet of good fit fas-
tened securely upon the head with the straps of the helmet.

(b) — It shall be unlawful for any parent or legal guardian of a person below the age of 16 to
knowingly permit that person to be a passenger on a bicycle unless all of the following condi-
tions are met:

(1) — The person is able to maintain an erect, seated position on the bicycle.

(2) — Except as provided in subdivision (3) of this subsection, the person is properly
seated alone on a saddle seat (as on a tandem bicycle).

(3) — With respect to any person who weighs less than 40 pounds, or is less than 40
inches in height, the person can be and is properly seated in and adequately secured to
a restraining seat.

(c) — No negligence or liability shall be assessed on or imputed to any party on account of a
violation of subsection (a) or (b) of this section.

(d) — Violation of this section shall be an infraction. Except as provided in subsection (e) of
this section, any parent or guardian found responsible for violation of this section may be or-
dered to pay a civil fine of up to ten dollars ($10.00), inclusive of all penalty assessments and
court costs.

(e) — In the case of a first conviction of this section, the court may waive the fine upon receipt
of satisfactory proof that the person responsible for the infraction has purchased or otherwise
obtained, as appropriate, a protective bicycle helmet or a restraining seat, and uses and in-
tends to use it whenever required under this section.

SECTION 2. This act becomes effective October 1, 2001.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 28th day of June, 2001.
s/ Beverly E. Perdue President of the Senate
s/ James B. Black Speaker of the House of Representatives
s/ Michael F. Easley Governor

Approved 11:50 a.m. this 5th day of July, 2001
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